Self-indulgent musings of a social retard.

Current Older Rings Profile Book Host

PSA Rant
02.09.02 @ 3:55 p.m.

Is anyone else as disturbed by the government's new anti-drug ads as I am? Actually, I'm more than disturbed by them, I actually find them vile. The whole montage of teens juxtaposed with the "where do terrorists get their money? some of it comes from you" thing disgusts me. Yeah. It's the pot smoking, high schoolers who financed the WTC attacks. Who knew? Apparently George W. knew all along. But if he knew, why was he snorting all that cocaine in the '80s?

Also, it's not as if some terrorists don't have more lucrative, (U.S. government aided, no less) sources of funding. Where is it that bin Laden's family wealth comes from again? Oh yeah. The oil industry. Interesting. And yet I've not seen one government funded ad suggesting that big oil (a la Cheney and Bush holdings) is a source of terroristic funds.

Fuck. It's not as if I don't know on a completely rational level that the government is full of hypocrites, but it still pisses me off when it's shoved down my throat.

For the record, I do happen to know that Afghanistan is a large grower and distributor of heroin. I also know that the Taliban cracked down severely (and we can all agree the Taliban can in fact be severe?) on the growth of poppies, and destroyed many poppy farms. It is ironic, therefore, that a side effect of their ousting has been a resurgence in the Afghani heroin industry.

Man, I need to go play some more Inklink on Shockwave.com.

<<|>>


mailnotesguestmap

� justvisiting, justvisiting.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict. The WeatherPixie