Self-indulgent musings of a social retard.

Current Older Rings Profile Book Host

Hair today...
02.07.02 @ 11:41 a.m.

I ain't never been no pixie but...

Yesterday I got my haircut. It's pretty much all gone. And damned if it's not completely foreign and weird to me. But also, it's so liberating. I have almost always avoided having short hair. In the Black community, hair is such a hot button issue. "Good" hair vs. "bad" hair. What is known is some circles as good hair is defined by it's lack of African-ess (ie. not nappy, kinky, or too-tightly curled) as well as length. I have had my hair straighted my entire life. I remember my ears and neck having little burn marks from where my mom slipped with the hot comb. Burns on my scalp from the chemicals (in the '70s it was lye for fuck's sake!) my aunt Cynthia used to relax my hair. "And when it's straight, your hair looks longer." An added bonus. When I got to be in high school, I learned that I could just buy a comb-like attachment for the end of the blow dryer. Use that and the hottest, most damaging setting on the blow dryer and voila! instant good hair. Pretty hair.

Enough already. Yesterday, I got all the relaxer cut out of my hair. And you know what I discovered? My hair is fine the way it is. It's super curly. On someone else, I might even say it's cute. I'm not quite used to it enough to say it about mine...yet.

The hair thing is particularly interesting to me because Bink's hair is not African in texture - at all. People often remark - and I'm always amazed, because really, who the fuck are they to comment anyway - that she has "white people's hair." Well actually, it's pretty fine, but really. Her dad is white, I identify as black, but really I'm black and Native American, so, her hair makes sense to me.

In other, non-coif related news, I'm taking French classes at night to prepare for our trip to Paris in April. The teacher is this hot little French guy. And just for the record, "hot little French guy" is not an oxymoron if you consider my idea of hot is skinny geeky guys with glasses a la Rivers Cuomo...or Jamie for that matter (haven't mentioned him in a while!) French was my minor in college. Bear in mind that I graduated in 1990. That's a long time to not speak a language, and as you know, if you don't use it, you lose it. I'm gonna try really hard to get up to speed.

Bink and I have been saving frequent flyer miles for years, and our trip to New York in December put us over the top for miles to Paris. Excellent! (That was ex-say-lan, the French pronunciation, by the way!) My mom owns a time share that enables her to trade places internationally with other time share owners. I have my fingers crossed that we'll get a place, though they said Paris is tough to get. I've been on a waiting list for about 6 weeks now. Fingers tightly crossed. If it works out, our lodging will only be $40 per night. Please, please, please work out. I need to get my ass moving on updating my passport and getting her her first one.

<<|>>


mailnotesguestmap

� justvisiting, justvisiting.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict. The WeatherPixie