Self-indulgent musings of a social retard.

Current Older Rings Profile Book Host

88
October 01, 2001 @ 11:35 a.m.

My goodness. Am I still in San Francisco? It was so hot this weekend. I'm not one for extreme heat, so this just about did me in.

Friday, after I picked Bink up from school, we went bowling. It was fun. We both suck, but it wasn't about that.

After her dental appointment Saturday morning, (she got a gold star for her brushing technique and lack of cavities - I'm so proud), we went to the peace rally and march in Dolores Park (which is in my 'hood, anyway.) The sun was bright, there was an amazing turn out, and some great speakers. I must admit, however, I am way sick of those patchouli-wearing, white-folks-with-dreadlocks having, vegan-preaching, latter-day-hippie-but-not-quite-getting-that-there's-more-to-it-than-smoking-pot-and not-bathing types that tend to populate these events with their drum circles and twirling. (Dude, the Dead died with Jerry...let it go.) But I digress.

I saw an ex-boyfriend there, the last person I had sex with sadly enough. Bink and I walked by. She saw him and asked why I didn't say "Hi." My first thought was "I just saw a pile of dog shit and avoided that, too." But I just said, "he looked busy." Argh.

We marched. Bink carried a sign she made with watercolors. It was a peace symbol.

We ran into a lot of the usual suspects - folks I knew I'd see there, because I see them at every political (or pseudo political, for that matter) event I go to. I worked for a couple of years in my youth as a peace activist, so I still run into a few people I used to work with. We've all moved on professionally, but our hearts are still into it. I did manage to lose Bink's new jacket that my mom bought her. I just dropped it somewhere. Bink reminded me that it has her name in it, but I had to tell her that indeed, not everyone knows who she is.

The next entry is going to be even longer than this one. I have written it, and it's just too damned long not to be its own enty.

<<|>>


mailnotesguestmap

� justvisiting, justvisiting.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict. The WeatherPixie