Self-indulgent musings of a social retard.

Current Older Rings Profile Book Host

224: A Blast from the Past
03.29.04 @ 9:41 a.m.

I spent this last weekend in Orange County at a conference for work. We got to stay at a resort/spa. Very fancy - but oh so boring. When I got home last night, I made a perfunctory check of my Hotmail account (my junk mail account) and there was an email from my ex-boyfriend:

Hi XXX,How are you? Long time no speak. I remember seeing you and XXX and not saying hello at Powell/Market (the demonstration to protest the Florida elections in 2000). Sorry about that; what a jackass I can be. I confused the hell out of you, didn't I? Well, I've changed, grown up, grown older, wiser. I've missed you, your sense of humor, and how hard we used to make each other laugh sometimes. I hope all is well with you and XXX, and the XXX job worked out for you. I would enjoy catching up sometime. Best,Aaron XXX

What the hell? This is someone I dated in LA � about 13 years ago. In fact, I left LA because we broke up. Actually, I left because when we broke up we worked together, had pretty much all the same friends, and everyone liked him more. So I moved to Santa Barbara. I was there for six months before I moved to San Francisco. In the meantime, we had secretly written to each other (pre-email), but hadn�t spoken to or seen each other. Our friends always thought we should avoid each other, because it made things uncomfortable. After I�d moved to Santa Barbara, he moved to Santa Cruz, and when I moved to San Francisco, he did too, a few months later. We became really good friends. He visited me in the hospital the day after my daughter was born. He was her first babysitter. He�s smart, super-talented (he�s a writer and also a music critic for two free Bay Area weekly newspapers), and we have the same politics and the same sense of humor. Then of course, the first summer my kid went to visit my mom (she was three,) we got drunk and slept together. Then things got weird. Once again, we had friends take sides � mostly his. I guess I�m just not a very sympathetic character, even though it really was him that fucked me over. At any rate, I haven�t spoken to him in five years! I wonder what�s going on, but am afraid to answer him. Maybe he�s getting married, and is contacting all his exes to do a comparison to the fianc�? Making sure he�s chosen wisely. Yes, this scenario has happened to me. Maybe he�s lonely? Maybe he just read or watched High Fidelity. I don�t know.

<<|>>


mailnotesguestmap

� justvisiting, justvisiting.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict. The WeatherPixie