Self-indulgent musings of a social retard.

Current Older Rings Profile Book Host

174
05.29.02 @ 9:09 p.m.

Things did not go exactly as I had hoped, but thanks to all the well-wishers. I was issued a temporary custody order, and a new hearing date was set. He didn't show up for the hearing - which was fine by me. That wasn't the problem, though. I sent him the papers via certified mail. He signed for them. I had the proof of of that with me in court. The commisioner (judge) was unsure that due process was served however. The reason for her uncertainty lay in the fact that since he is in another state and this is a new action against him, that personal service must be made initially (and then, any additional service via certified mail would be okay.) Frankly, it all sounded pretty convouluted to me. It boils down to me having to get someone to deliver the papers personally to him.

On the upside, this may not be as difficult as I had anticipated. The court put me in touch with the Child Abduction Unit of SFPD. Apparently, they have agreements with law enforcement agencies nationwide. They are arranging for the sheriff in his city to serve the papers.

My next court date is July 15th. I can't wait for this to be over.

One of the big law firms in town is doing their annual mock trial thing next month. I'm going to be either a witness, or a juror. They're looking for about 60 people. I think it will be so much fun. Not only do we get to pretend we're on Law & Order, but the whole lot of volunteers gets lunch on the firm at Kites, this great Thai restaurant in town. Score! (If any Bay Area folks are interested, drop me a line, and I'll get you the info.)

<<|>>


mailnotesguestmap

� justvisiting, justvisiting.diaryland.com.
Designed by layoutaddict. The WeatherPixie